Love Me, Myself, and My Art

I work with my little 5 and 6 year old students to make wonderful projects on something they love.

My working philosophy is to build their finger muscles (Psst.. you cannot tell them this ok…).   I have found over the years that many children do not like to work with crayons.  “It is such a hard work to do this coloring Mama,” says My Little Handsome Boy.   “It hurts my fingers.”

My Little Handsome Boy has been my biggest inspiration.  I always wanted to solve the puzzle: what happens to boys who have great, vivid imagination and at the same time they are stuck at reflection.   What would you do when you see a child who has bright eyes full of stories and characters floating in front of him/her and when it comes down to a sketch, its not the same.  Oh, no!!!

The more I researched, I read that the gross motor movement* is greatly developed in boys and can take 6 months more to develop the fine motor skill** for that age group.  Sometimes I have seen children in tears over the drawings they create.   It makes them feel awful when they are supposed to feel proud of themselves for trying so hard.

So here I was determined to make a change.  I wanted children to have fun and solve the problem of developing those darn finger muscles.  Now its up to me how to get the job done.

Lets solve this problem ArtAstically!

*You may already know these terms; for those who do not know:

*Gross motor movements involve those bodily actions that involve the large muscles of the body, e.g.: walking, running, playing with ball, jumping, etc.

** Fine motor movements involve eye hand coordination for small fine tuned finger muscles for functions such as writing, sewing, painting, beading, etc.

It takes tremendous practice and patience to have a complete control over both of these movements to become skills.  Imagine a small baby learning to move its head, rolling, flat on tummy, pushing up, crawling, standing, etc.. Think about the attitude to “never give up” instilled in instinct at such a young age!!!

